Working at Cummings & McCrady for over 30 years, Mr. English’s responsibilities include spatial programming, master planning, building design, project management and construction administration. He has designed and constructed numerous institutional large facilities and his wide range of experience also includes historic restoration. Prior to joining Cummings & McCrady, he was the Director of Planning and Design for the Kiawah Island Company. In 2005, Mr. English was named Architect of the Year by the Charleston Contractor’s Association. A brief glimpse of his key project experience includes the Sullivan's Island Elementary School, Randolph Hall, Baxter-Patrick James Island Library, and the Charleston County Public Services Building.
Mr. Whitener has been a part of the Cummings & McCrady team for 18 years working with adaptive reuse projects, renovation to historic structures, and new construction in all aspects of design and construction. He takes pride in working with clients to see their vision become a reality, working hand in hand with them from project inception to completion. His project with the City of Charleston on Marion Square became the first green roof installation of any municipality in South Carolina. It also won a national honor award from The Brick Association. Some of his recent work includes multiple projects at Bishop Gadsden Retirement Community, Charleston County Law Enforcement Center, SC Statewide Conditions Assessments, SC Department of Disabilities and Special Needs, the College of Charleston, IDC City of Charleston, James Island Christian Church & School, Pineville RE Church, Bland Building National Register adaptive reuse, IDC projects with SLED, Sandy Island Historic School HSR, and the Carnegie Library Restoration.
"The secret is to have the very best architects and engineers in the field that are obtainable and never hire someone you would not take home for dinner with the family," circa 1981 John McCrady - C&M co-founder (1921-2007)